Go to the new North Northamptonshire Council website

Future Northants

The Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government invited all eight local authorities in Northamptonshire to submit proposals for reform of local government in the county. This request follows a report from inspector, Max Caller.

Under government proposals recently laid before Parliament, two new unitary councils will be created in Northamptonshire to provide all local government services in the county.

Subject to this parliamentary legislation being approved, the two new unitaries will come into being on 1 April 2021, replacing the existing eight authorities.

Northamptonshire's borough, district and county councils are working collaboratively with appropriate partners and the government and will put residents' and businesses needs at the forefront of any solution.

 A proposed new unitary council for North Northamptonshire will cover the areas of Corby Borough Council, East Northamptonshire Council, Kettering Borough Council and Borough Council of Wellingborough. Services currently provided by Northamptonshire County Council and the districts and boroughs would be delivered by the two new councils. The proposed West Northamptonshire unitary authority will cover the areas of Daventry District Council, Northampton Borough Council and South Northamptonshire Council.


Prospectus for change - Northamptonshire

Letter to Secretary of State

Northamptonshire Local Government Reform proposal

PwC report on Northamptonshire Local Government Reform

ORS report on Northamptonshire Local Government Reform

Unitary process FAQs

Expected timeline

Equalities Impact Assessment