Borough Council of Wellingborough

The 2017 electoral registration canvass is underway

Please complete your household enquiry form and return it to us as quickly as possible

more info

Parliamentary Boundary Review 2018

Parliamentary Constituency Boundary Review 2018

Second Consultation Period Opens

On 28 February 2017, the Boundary Commission published all of the representations made during the first consulation period on their website. The Boundary Commission for England has encouraged people to submit their views on what others have said until 27 March 2017.

Initial Proposals and First Consultation Period

The Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (as amended in 2011) requires the four Boundary Commissions for the UK to carry out a review of constituencies and to submit final reports to Parliament in September 2018. Parliament has specified that the 2018 Review must reduce the number of constituencies, and therefore MPs, in the UK, to 600. It has asked the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) to consider where the boundaries of the new constituencies in England should be, ensuring that every new constituency has roughly the same number of electors; no fewer than 71,031 and no more than 78,507.

The review is expected to take approximately two and a half years. Initial proposals for new boundaries were published on 13 September 2016. This begins a twelve week public consultation period where members of the public are invited to submit their comments and feedback to BCE. Members of the public can submit their views to the Boundary Commission for England by attending public hearings, commenting on the consultation website, or by writing to the BCE. BCE encourages members of the public to feed back via the consultation website, as maps are available to view while you submit your comments.

The consultation website also provides detailed plans for the whole East Midlands region which includes the initial proposals for Wellingborough, other constituencies around Northamptonshire, and the other counties within the region. There are several changes proposed to the Wellingborough parliamentary constituency, summarized below:

Finedon ward would become part of the proposed Kettering parliamentary constituency
Harrowden and Sywell ward would become part of the proposed Daventry and Lutterworth constituency (note: three villages from this ward - Ecton, Mears Ashby and Sywell - are already part of the current Daventry parliamentary consituency)
Wollaston and Bozeat wards would become part of the proposed Northampton South constituency

Irthlingborough Waterloo and Irthlingborough John Pyel wards would become part of the proposed Wellingborough constituency.

The Boundary Commission for England held three public hearings with regard to the initial proposals to the East Midlands region. The dates and locations of these hearings are available below:





Cathedral Quarter Hotel, 16 Saint Mary’s Gate, Derby DE1 3JR

Thursday 27 – Friday 28 October 2016


Northampton Council, The Guildhall, St. Giles Square, Northampton NN1 1DE

Monday 31 October – Tuesday 1 November 2016


Bishop Grosseteste University, Newport, Lincoln LN1 3DY

Thursday 3 – Friday 4 November 2016

Maps are available on the Boundary Commission for England's consultation website.If you have any queries about the proposed boundary changes then please contact the Electoral Services team by calling 01933 231513 or emailing